AFO Governance

AFO Committees

(A) AFO Steering Committee Members (2013-2016):  Responsible for overall strategic direction for the project since 2009.

  • Dr. Louise Plouffe: Chair of the AFO Steering Committee and COA Board member
  • Nadine Jodoin: Project Lead, Older Adult Plan, City of Ottawa
  • Elizabeth Kristjansson: University of Ottawa, Centre For Research on Educational and Community Services
  • Kelly Milne: Director, Regional Geriatric Program of Eastern Ontario: Champlain Dementia Network
  • Kelly Mertl: United Way
  • Dianne Breton: COA Board member and Committee Liaison
  • Caroline Andrew: Director, Centre of Governance, University of Ottawa
  • Caroline Midgley: Director of Marketing, Seniors on Site
  • Hugh Nelson : Y’s Owl Maclure Co-operative Centre
  • Martha Fair: Statistics Canada, retired
  • Linda Leduc: Program Director, Alzheimer’s Society of Ottawa and Renfrew County
  • Lauren Brooks-Cleator: PhD candidate, University of Ottawa

(B) AFO Implementation Team 2013 : Formed in January 2013 to lead the implementation phase of the project – To consult and share the AFO Community Action Plan in the community and implement AFO Business Recognition Project –  will report to the Steering Committee – will be meeting on a monthly basis in 2013

  • Lise Chislett ( from Steering Committee)
  • Adele Muldoon (from AFO Reference group)
  • Ardyth Elliot (from AFO Reference Group
  • Lise Chislett ( from Steering Committee)
  • Martha Fair (from  AFO Reference Group
  • Caroline Midgley (from AFO reference group)
  • Dianne Breton (from Steering Committee)
  • Caroline Andrew (from Steering Committee)
  • Janet Gray (from Steering Committee)
  • Dagmar Horsman ( Communications Consultant  from Reference Group)
  • Nadine Jodoin (from Steering Committee)
  • Hugh Nelson (from Steering Committee)
  • Diane Duffy (Ottawa Senior Pride Network of Ottawa)
  • Loreto Lamb, Chartwell Retirement Residences
  • Violène Gabriel, Regroupement Affaires femmes
  • COA staff: Dominique Paris-MacKay, Renée Chartier

(C) AFO Business Recognition Project Working Group (2013-2015)

Small work group reporting to implementation team, responsible to research, propose and help implement AFO project – will meet monthly, as required – more seniors & members from business community to join

  • Caroline Midgley ( from AFO Reference Group)
  • Dagmar Horsman (from AFO Reference Group)
  • Hugh Nelson (from Steering Committee)
  • Jean-Serge Lauzon (representing francophone seniors )
  • Larry Doshen (from reference group)
  • Marie-France Lalonde, General Manager Portobello Manor
  • Gaye Moffett, GEM Health Care Ottawa
  • COA Staff, Dominique Paris-MacKay

Age Friendly Ottawa (AFO) Steering Committee 2009:

The initial Age Friendly Ottawa (AFO) steering committee was established in 2009. Throughout the program development some memberships have changed. All volunteer efforts towards realizing the Age-friendly vision are valued and appreciated. The 2009 membership included:

  • Dr. Lise Chislett, Chair of the AFO Steering Committee and President of the Board of Directors, Council on Aging of Ottawa
  • Bernard Bouchard, Executive Director, Council on Aging of Ottawa
  • Dr. Caroline Andrew, Director & professor, Centre on Governance, University of Ottawa
  • Dianne Breton, Member of the City of Ottawa Seniors Advisory Committee and Board of Directors of the Council on Aging of Ottawa
  • Bob Monette, City Councillor, Orléans
  • Clara Freire, Manager, Client Services Strategies, City Operations Portfolio, Organizational Development & Performance Department of  Ottawa
  • Nadine Jodoin, Specialist Policy, Planning & Development, Organizational Dev & Performance Department of Ottawa
  • Representative from: La Fédération des aînés francophones de l’Ontario ( FAFO)
  • Cal Martell, Consultant, former Chair of the Seniors’ Impact Council, United Way of Ottawa & former Director, Regional Geriatric Assessment Program
  • Dr. Louise Plouffe, Manager, Knowledge Development Section, Division of Aging and Seniors, Public Health Agency of Canada
  • Monique Gibbens, Cité Collégiale
  • Jacquie Nyiramukwende, OCCISO
  • Janet Gray, representative from Ottawa Chapter of CARP
  • Kristen Hayes, DSW Program, Algonquin College
  • Hugh Nelson, Y’s Owl Maclure Cooperative Centre Inc.
  • Maureen Donnelly, Odawa Native Friendship Centre
  • Jacqueline Roy, Ottawa Public Health