Snow Moles

mole trans

SNOW MOLES 2021

Age-Friendly Winter Walkability and Pedestrian Safety Audits for Seniors and Other Valuable Pedestrians

afo logo NEW cropped

Snow Moles are volunteers who report on what it’s like to walk outside on a winter day in Ottawa. Anyone can be a snow mole, but we are particularly looking for seniors and children to participate, as well as people who use mobility devices (e.g. canes, walkers, and wheelchairs).

You are invited to ensure healthy, accessible, and safe winter walking conditions in Ottawa, by becoming a Snow Mole and completing a Winter Walkability and Pedestrian Safety Audit.

Your answers will be part of a 2021 Winter Walking in Ottawa – Snow Mole Report shared with the City of Ottawa for their Winter Maintenance Quality Standards Review.

You can be a snow mole:

Pick a time of day when you need to go out (best after some winter weather has occurred such as a. snowfall or freezing rain), and a destination (e.g. bus stop, grocery store, school, bank, seniors centre, or library).

Use the Snow Mole questionnaire to audit your walk.

Fill out the questionnaire online (preferred) or send a completed paper copy to the COA at 217 – 815 boul. St. Laurent Blvd., Ottawa, Ontario K1K 3A7

Take and submit photos to snowmoles@coaottawa.ca. When sending pictures, include the date, time, and location the photo was taken!

For more information, contact us at snowmoles@coaottawa.ca or 613-789-3577 ext. 103

Community Leaders 2021

Alta Vista Bonnie Schroeder b.schroeder@coaottawa.ca
Carp Margaret Dunn dunnm9@magma.ca
Centrepointe (Nepean) Les Whitney leswhitney@rogers.com
Centretown Miriam Levitt miriam.levitt@rogers.com
Sandra Stec sandrastec@gmail.com
Crystal Bay Kathy Riley kathyriley@rogers.com
Cumberland Ardyth Elliott Ardyth@rogers.com
Fisher Heights Jayne Belanger jayne.belanger1957@gmail.com
Glebe Mary Gick mgick@sympatico.ca
Hintonburg Cheryl Parrott cheryl.vance@sympatico.ca
Kanata North (Beaverbrook) Julie Gourley julie@jakeland.ca
Kanata South (Bridlewood) Annette Keough annettekeough@gmail.com
Kinburn (West Carleton) Mary Porritt maryporritt65@gmail.com
Lowertown John Woodhouse toonie2me@gmail.com
New Edinburgh Ann Moore pannemoore@gmail.com
Old Ottawa East Dianne Breton rdbreton@rogers.com
Old Ottawa South Anna Cuylits acuylits@magma.ca
Orléans Alton Legault alegault10@hotmail.com
Janet Luloff janet.luloff@rogers.com
Overbrook Carole Larose ggrrlsx2@gmail.com
South Keys Jennifer Brooks jbroo@sympatico.ca
Westboro Sally Scott sallymscott1@gmail.com

Tips for Winter Walking

There is nothing like taking a walk to enjoy the beauty of the season – and walking is one of the best ways to keep healthy. On the other hand, winter can be a challenging time of year to get out and about. Here are some tips for safer walking outdoors in winter.

2020 Snow Mole Report