Snow Moles

mole trans

SNOW MOLES 2022

Age-Friendly Winter Walkability and Pedestrian Safety Audits for Seniors and Other Valuable Pedestrians

afo logo NEW cropped

SNOW MOLES are volunteers who report on what it is like to walk outside on a winter day.

You are invited to ensure healthy, accessible, and safe winter walking conditions in Ottawa, by becoming a SNOW MOLE and completing a Winter Walkability and Pedestrian Safety Audit. Your answers will be part of a 2022 Winter Walking in Ottawa: Snow Mole Report shared with the City of Ottawa for a better understanding of the safety of winter walking in Ottawa.

You can be a snow mole:

  1. When you go out for an errand or a walk, please use the Snow Mole Questionnaire to note features and conditions that are “safe” (e.g., a bench cleared of snow) as well as “unsafe” (e.g., snow piled up in intersections).
  2. We encourage you to take and submit photos of both safe and unsafe features and conditions. Send photos to snowmoles@coaottawa.ca
  3. Complete the questionnaire online or drop off/mail it to: The Council on Aging of Ottawa (815 St. Laurent Blvd #217, Ottawa, ON K1K 3A7).

For more information, contact us at snowmoles@coaottawa.ca or 613-789-3577 ext. 103

Community Leaders 2022

Alta Vista Bonnie Schroeder b.schroeder@coaottawa.ca
Centretown Sandra Stec sandrastec@gmail.com
Crystal Bay Kathy Riley kathyriley@rogers.com
Cumberland Ardyth Elliott Ardyth@rogers.com
Fisher Heights Jayne Belanger jayne.belanger1957@gmail.com
Glebe Mary Gick mgick@sympatico.ca
Hintonburg Cheryl Parrott cheryl.vance@sympatico.ca
Kanata North (Beaverbrook) Julie Gourley julie@jakeland.ca
Kanata South (Bridlewood) Annette Keough annettekeough@gmail.com
Kinburn (West Carleton) Mary Porritt maryporritt65@gmail.com
Lowertown John Woodhouse toonie2me@gmail.com
New Edinburgh Ann Moore pannemoore@gmail.com
Old Ottawa East Dianne Breton rdbreton@rogers.com
Old Ottawa South Anna Cuylits acuylits@magma.ca
Orléans Alton Legault alegault10@hotmail.com
Ottawa West Min Ku mku070@gmail.com
Overbrook / Vanier Carole Larose ggrrlsx2@gmail.com
South Keys Jennifer Brooks jbroo@sympatico.ca
Westboro Sally Scott sallymscott1@gmail.com

Community Partners 2022

KDS Village kdsvillage@gmail.com Lisa Hollingshead
Carlington Community Health Centre hrose@carlingtonchc.org Hilary Rose
CARP Ottawa Chapter Nancy.Edwards@uottawa.ca Nancy Edwards

Tips for Winter Walking

There is nothing like taking a walk to enjoy the beauty of the season – and walking is one of the best ways to keep healthy. On the other hand, winter can be a challenging time of year to get out and about. Here are some tips for safer walking outdoors in winter.

2021 Snow Mole Report