Snow Moles

SNOW MOLES 2020

Age-Friendly Winter Walkability and Pedestrian Safety Audits for Seniors and Other Valuable Pedestrians

Snow Moles are volunteers who report on what it’s like to walk outside on a winter day in Ottawa. The information they gather will be used by the Council on Aging of Ottawa (COA) to inform the City and others of ways that winter walkability can and should be improved.

Anyone can be a snow mole, but we are particularly looking for seniors and children to participate, as well as people who use mobility devices (e.g. canes, walkers and wheelchairs).

There are two ways you can be a snow mole:

1. On your own

 

2. With a neighbourhood group

Pick a time of day when you need to go out (best after some winter weather has occurred, such as a snowfall, or freezing rain), and a destination (e.g. bus stop, grocery store, school, bank, seniors centre, library).

Use the Snow Mole questionnaire to audit your walk. Do as many audits as you like on different days between January 1 and March 31.

Complete the questionnaire online or send a completed paper copy to the COA (address below).

 

In 2020, several community associations and groups from across the city will participate.

Find the names of the Snow Mole Community Leaders below. Contact the leader in your area for dates, times and locations of  Snow Mole walk audits in your community.

We hope you will take out family and friends on February 2, 2020 for the Ground Hog Day Snow Mole Audit one day blitz.

Use online questionnaire

 

Download paper questionnaire

For more information, contact us at snowmoles@coaottawa.ca or 613-789-3577.

The Council on Aging of Ottawa, 1247 Kilborn Place, Ottawa, ON K1H 6K9

Snow Mole Community Leaders

Old Ottawa South 

Anna Cuylits

acuylits@magma.ca

Old Ottawa East

Dianne Breton

rdbreton@rogers.com

Orléans

Alton Legault

alegault10@hotmail.com

Centretown 

Miriam Levitt

Miriam.Levitt@rogers.com

Lowertown

John Woodhouse

toonie2me@gmail.com

Nepean

Les Whitney 

leswhitney@rogers.com

Hintonburg 

Cheryl Parrott 

cheryl.vance@sympatico.ca

Carp 

Margaret Dunn 

dunnm9@magma.ca

Alta Vista

Bonnie Schroeder

Nicole Vanderveen  

afo@coaottawa.ca

nicole.e.vanderveen@gmail.com

New Edinburgh

Anne Moore 

pannemoore@gmail.com

Fisher Heights 

Jayne Belanger

jayne.belanger1957@gmail.com

Kanata North 

Julie Gourley 

julie@jakeland.ca

Kanata South 

Annette Keough  

annettekeough@gmail.com

Westboro 

Sally Scott  

sallymscott1@gmail.com

 Elmvale 

Rose Hunt

huntrose@gmail.com

Hunt Club 

Rosemary Campbell

Gerry Green  

rosemary_campbell@rogers.com

gerrygreen@gmail.com